Peace Corps Writers
More information
about our awards.

     PC Experience

Paul Cowan Non-Fiction Award

FIRST GIVEN IN 1990, the Paul Cowan Non-Fiction Award was named to honor Paul Cowan, a Peace Corps Volunteer who served in Ecuador. Cowan wrote The Making of An Un-American about his experiences as a Volunteer in Latin America in the sixties. A longtime activist and political writer for The Village Voice, Cowan died of leukemia in 1988.
     The winners are:

The Importance of Being Famous: Behind the Scenes of the Celebrity-Industrial Complex
by Maureen Orth
     (Colombia 1964–66)
(Buy this book)
Glory in the Camel's Eye
2004 Award Winner
Nine Hills to Nambonkaha:
Two Years in the Heart of an African Village

by Sarah Erdman
     (Cote D’Ivoire 1998–00)
(Buy this book)

2003 Award Winner
Power Lines:
Two Years on South Africa’s Borders

by Jason Carter
     (South Africa 1998
(Buy this book) REVIEW


2002 Award Winner
River Town:
Two Years on the Yangtze
Peter Hessler
     (China 1996–98)
(Buy this book) REVIEW

2001 Award Winner
Blood of the Liberals
George Packer
     (Togo 1982–83)
(Buy this book) REVIEW

2000 Award Winner
Mango Elephants in the Sun:
How Life in an African Village Let Me Be in My Skin

Susana Herrera
     (Cameroon 1992-94)
(Buy this book) REVIEW

1999 Award Winner
An Inn Near Kyoto:
Writing by American Women Abroad
Kathleen Coskran
     (Ethiopia 1965–67)
(Buy this book) REVIEW


1998 Award Winner
The Last Camel:
True Stories About Somalia
Jeanne D'haem
     (Somalia 1968–70)
(Buy this book)


1997 Award Winner
Amazon Stranger:
A Rainforest Chief Battles Big Oil

Mike Tidwell
     (Zaire 1985–87)
(Buy this book)
   Out of Isak Dinesen in Africa:
The Untold Story
Linda Donelson
     (Cameroon 1965–66, Ghana 1966–67)
(Buy this book)
A Journey Across the Sahara

Geraldine Kennedy
     (Liberia 1962–64)
(Buy this book)
   Portrait of Nepal
Kevin Bubriski
     (Nepal 1975–79)
(Buy this book)
   Death without Weeping:
The Violence of Everyday Life in Brazil
Nancy Scheper-Hughes
     (Brazil 1964–66)
(Buy this book)
   The Edge of Paradise:
America in Micronesia
P. F. Kluge
     (Micronesia 1968–69)
(Buy this book)
   The Ponds of Kalambayi
Mike Tidwell
     (Zaire 1985–87)
(Buy this book)
   For his collected works
Moritz Thomsen (Ecuador 1965–67)
Home | Back Issues | Resources | Archives | Site Index | Search | About us | To contact us

Bibliography of Peace Corps Writers | PC writers by country of service

E-mail the with comments
or to be added to the new-issue notice list.
Copyright © 2008, (formerly RPCV Writers & Readers)
All rights reserved.